New to Georgia – Driver’s License or Instructional Permit

By Lena Sullivan 01/13/2011 20:06:00

New to Georgia – Driver’s License or Instructional Permit

Click here if you are not a US citizen

You must apply for a Georgia driver's license within 30 days of becoming a Georgia resident.  All Customer Service Centers can transfer an out of state license to a Georgia license.  These Customer Service Centers in the Metro Atlanta area offer appointments to transfer your out of state license to Georgia: Decatur-South DeKalb Mall, North Cobb-Canton Rd in Marietta, Lithonia, Lawrenceville, and Locust Grove. View the current fee information.

Note: Knowledge (written) testing must begin at least 30 minutes before the center closes.

Click here if you have a Driver's License from another country

All documents must be in English.  Click here Translator List to locate an approved document translation company.

Requirements

  1. Exchange a Valid (or expired less than 2 years) Out of State License for a Georgia License
    • Be at least 18 years of age.
    • Surrender a valid out of state license or an out of state license expired less than two years. If you do not have the license in your possession, see Lost or Expired Out of State License section on this page.
      1. An out of state license is defined as one issued by one the other 49 states and District of Columbia.
      2. For licenses from other countries, see Drivers From Other Nations.
      3. By surrendering a license as described above, you are exempt from the written and road test.
        • Exception: Licenses from US Territories must pass the written and road tests.
      4. You will need to pass the vision exam.
    • Social Security requirements
      1. Have a social security number (the card itself is not required) OR
      2. Present certification from the Social Security Administration (Letter of Denial, Form SSAL 676) that you are not eligible for issuance of a social security number due to alien status and not authorized to work in the United States.
      3. Your social security number will be verified with the Social Security Administration and personal information must be consistent with both Agencies to be issued a license.
    • Provide proof of Georgia residency
      1. Present a bank statement issued within the past 60 days
      2. A utility bill issued within the past 60 days
      3. Current valid rental contracts and/or receipts for payments made within the last 60 days for rent payments with valid Georgia residence address
      4. Employer verification (letter from employer on company letterhead stating applicant's full name and home address) or check stub stating name and address.
      5. Georgia driver's license of parent, child, guardian or spouse; the GA license/ID card holder must also be present for identification.
    • Provide proof of identity
      1. An original birth certificate, certificate of birth registration, certified copy of birth certificate or delayed birth certificate (Hospital birth certificates not acceptable)
      2. If your name has changed from your original birth record or passport, you must present the complete trail of certified documents supporting all name changes. Documents include but are not limited to:
        • Marriage license, marriage certificate or marriage license application (for all marriages) Please note: by law, same sex marriage certificates cannot be accepted for name changes.
        • Divorce decree (if a name change was specified on the decree). Divorce decree may not substitute for marriage documents.
        • Adoption – court orders
        • Legal name change – court orders
      3. Certified naturalization documentation
      4. Immigration ID Card
      5. Valid passport
      6. Military identification card issued by the United States armed forces (must provide additional proof of citizenship).
      7. Provide proof of citizenship or lawful presence in the U.S.
        1. To prove U.S. citizenship provide one of the following:
          • Birth certificate issued by a U.S. state or territory (Military ID is not proof of US citizenship.)
          • Valid US passport
        2. To prove lawful presence in the United States, provide Valid and current immigration documentation.

          --All documents must be originals; faxes and copies are not acceptable--
  2. Lost and Expired Out of State License
    • If you do not have the out of state license in your possession, an original letter of clearance or certified driving record from the issuing state must be presented.
      • The letter or driving record must be dated within 30 days.
      • All licensing information from the issuing state must be included in the letter or driving record.
    • You must also provide proof of residency, identity and U.S. citizenship or lawful presence as noted above.
    • Out of state license expired
      • If the out of state license is expired for less than two years, you will only be required to take a vision test.
      • If the out of state license is expired for two years or more, you will be required to pass the written, road and vision exams.
  3. Learner's Permit

    Please call the Customer Service Number at (678) 413-8400 for specific information since the state of issuance may have different requirements for those under age 18 than the teen driving requirements in Georgia. A person surrendering an out of state learner's permit for a Georgia permit must meet all other licensing requirements (see Teen and New Drivers). Written tests may be taken at any Customer Service Center and test must begin at least 30 minutes before office close time.  Please allow longer to process paperwork and issue permit. Standard documentation required for a GA permit includes:

    • Driving record/history from issuing state (expires in 30 days)
    • Certificate of Attendance Form DS-1 (expires in 30 days)
    • Proof of identity, residency and citizenship (usually a certified US birth certificate and parent’s GA license) Use link at top of page if not a US citizen
    • Completion of GA license written exam
    • Social security number
    • To obtain a first license (not permit) upon surrendering an out of state learner’s permit, see the requirements below. GA law requires that a teen hold a permit for one year and one day before being issued a license, and time holding an out of state permit is counted.
  4. Under Age 18 with valid out of state license

    Please call the Customer Service Number at (678) 413-8400 for specific information since the state of issuance may have different requirements for those under age 18 than the teen driving requirements in Georgia. However, standard requirements would include, but are not limited to:
    1. Driving record/history from issuing state (expires in 30 days)
    2. Certificate of Attendance Form DS-1 (expires in 30 days)
    3. If age 16, completion of GA Driver’s Education
    4. Proof of identity, residency, and U.S. citizenship or lawful presence
    5. Social security number

      There are special teen license types that are treated differently, so you are encouraged to call DDS at the number above to discuss your teen’s specific license status and Georgia licensing requirements.

 
 
 
 
 

Most Popular