Treutlen County

By Lena Sullivan 10/22/2010 18:16:00

Treutlen County

Treutlen County, the 152nd county formed in Georgia, was created in 1917 from parts of Emanuel and Montgomery counties, territory that had been settled as early as 1784. The county was named for John Adam Treutlen who, after serving in the Provincial Congress of 1775, became the state's first governor, although the Crown regarded him only as a rebel governor.

Soperton is known as the "Million Pines City" because of James Fowler. Mr. Fowler planted over 7 million pine seedlings on 10,000 acres of the county. Pine by-products are now an important part of the local economy.

County Profile


Incorporated: August 21, 1917

Population: 6,854

Total Area: 200.7 Square miles

Contact Information





P.O. Box 88
Soperton, Georgia 30457-0088


(912) 529-3664
(912) 529-6062



By Lena Sullivan 10/22/2010 18:16:00

Most Popular