Facebook could be about to make a major addition to its News Feed-only options for users looking to share on the social network.
Up until now, pictures, videos and posts shared on the social network were automatically saved to your Timeline, content can be removed from your Timeline but it takes a few additional clicks. However, the new “Hide from Your Timeline” option that appears whenever you post to the social network.
This option lets you decide whether or not you want your current post to be archived on your Timeline as soon as you post online. In a discussion with Engadget about the new feature, which is currently being tested on a handful of users, Facebook said that
“The ability to hide a post from your Timeline already exists, and today we’re testing a feature that would make it even easier to control where your posts live by giving you the option to publish a post only to your News Feed and not to your Timeline.”
Although the posts won’t be visible on your Timeline, they will still be visible via the powerful Facebook Search options.